Were You Terminated Due to Personality Conflict, Destructive Politics or Other Negative Workplace Events?


One of the hardest things for job-seeking individuals to get passed is the pain of termination. You and the boss did not get along. So who goes? Why, you, of course! You’re fired!It’s bad enough if you lose your job through corporate downsizing, “restructuring,” company relocation or closure, but to lose your job because someone in power favored someone over you, sabotaged you or made a bad workplace situation worse or just didn’t see eye-to-eye with you — or was just plain abusive, is the hardest thing to dust yourself off, get up and start over again after feeling “poisoned” by a toxic work environment.

As an employment counselor, I see this all the time. It happens to the best of us and somewhere along the line, I am willing to wager, most people will have experienced it at least once in their working lifetime.

“The boss was a mental case. He’d curse and scream and throw things…” Or, “She was such a bitch.”(like the boss in Damages or The Devil Wears Prada).  Or I hear about how someone challenged some unfairness at work, or meant well on some issue but was misunderstood and before you know it, unspoken, implied bad vibes filled the air and settled like a pall over every workday. You can cut that tension, as the saying goes, with a knife in those situations…

Sadly, things can’t always be helped in cases of personality conflicts. Sometimes it’s just the way it is and nobody’s fault. It probably happens more often than not and not everyone is open to admitting it. It’s uncomfortable. You know it when it interferes with the performance of your work and you hate going in everyday. Better to get out and into a new job before being fired. People sometimes receive unemployment insurance due to firing or quitting. There is no hard and fast rule as the department of labor has appeals and grievance procedures and does hear the person out and judges on a case-to-case basis. However, there are no guarantees of receiving benefits. The hearings listen to employer as well as the employee challenging a refusal to issue benefits and this certainly is not a statement saying it’s OK to quit your job and expect to collect benefits. You are far better off slipping away into a new job before losing your current, unbearable one through being forced out and having to explain and hope the labor folks rule in your favor. It can go either way and you might be stuck holding the bag, complicating your grief, anger and bitterness. Even if you get unemployment benefits, you’ll still be bitter. That bitterness will destroy your job search efforts.

You must start over, no matter what!  

Read More on The405Club.com

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Were You Terminated Due to Personality Conflict, Destructive Politics or Other Negative Workplace Events?

  1. Candy says:

    I was just fired for personality conflicts and the person has been there 20+ years so of course it’s easier to get rid of me. I am relieved to a one point. But this person did send a pm message on facebook, pointing out that I am a troublemaker when she is extremely unprofessional at the company. I watched her paw all over married men, hug on them. That is not professional at all. She begged for food from vendors and if they were going to a place she did not like they would get her something else. It is not company policy but none of the vice presidents addressed it. It was rather disgusting and a way of life for this person. I guess accepted by the company and they have no human resources department.

  2. Rachele says:

    I was given 30 day notice of termination this past Tuesday (3 days ago). The primary reason was because my manager said we didn’t work well together and I wasn’t meeting her expectations. She was supposed to set goals with me long ago so I knew what the expectations were and she never did. When I asked for direction on specific procedures, I was never given any. In the meeting to terminate, she said that employees at this company shouldn’t need “training.” That’s fine in the case of your field – I didn’t need direction on processing payroll or HR policies/procedures. What I needed direction on were company policies, which no one would come in knowing (and there is no employee handbook), or tasks I was asked to take on that I had never done before and had no experience in. Requests for direction went unanswered. I struggled to get necessary information. I was berated if I fell short on expectations I wasn’t aware of. I was also cited for attendance. I recently had a house fire and a sudden death of an immediate family member within a week of each other. I’m displaced from my home for the next 3 months because this was recent. After these events, I disclosed to my supervisor that my Depression and Anxiety disorders were being exacerbated by the events occurring in my life and I needed a day to try to seek therapy or risk being hospitalized again. These disorders are covered by the ADA.

    I wrote a long letter the next day to one of the partners of the firm outlining all of these things. I’ve just been informed that I have a meeting scheduled in jut over an hour with the President and CEO (which I am sure is intended to intimidate me) and this will most likely be the end of my employment.

    I don’t even really know what to do, but I feel this is wrong.

  3. Candy says:

    Wow that is totally unexpected and just ignorant on the company’s part NO one plans to have anything happen to them like that. So sorry to read what happened. Praying God will restore and be in your corner for you.

  4. Candy says:

    I just wanted to add that even though this employee did not like me for whatever reason she bullied me everyday. So I just quit talking all together and then when she did not like that she started saying things like “and you call yourself a Christian.” I guess the mistake I made was I never reported her because I figured no one would believe me anyway. I mean really she was getting away with habitually being late every single day anyway. So why would I even bother? It knew would be a waste of time for me. I did however do the work I was hired for NOT ONE ERROR was found, So I don’t even understand why or how the decision was made to fire me?? I have never in my life encountered anyone like her. God help us! Her name is Ruthann Perry.

Leave a Reply

